International Midwives Day

So yesterday was International Midwives day, I’m a midwife so I was probably supposed to be excited by this, but I wasn’t working and I didn’t go out and search for activities to go and celebrate with, so to me it was just another day.

For me I celebrate it regularly when I can step back from my role and see the difference I have made to a woman, and those there to support her. In my ten years as a midwife I have not received many gifts, not that we are legally supposed to accept them! I have held hands with women, been hugged by them and just had them look straight at me with sincere thanks in their eyes. To me these are the days to celebrate, I love my job and making a difference to people.

I guess what I’m wondering is do we need this “extra” recognition, and if we do why isn’t there a day for every profession? Regardless of our job we all help the world go around.

So does your day have a day of recognition and do your truly appreciate this day?

Leave a comment